Posted by: themeanderingpathtoself | September 27, 2010

Grown up and gluten-free Macaroni and Cheese

Things are picking up speed around here just as expected. September has FLOWN by and deadlines are hurtling towards me at breakneck speeds. It’s getting to the point where dinners for the week are made on Sunday so that there’s one less thing to worry about on weekday evenings. These are the days I have to take one baby step at a time and try to keep my down so as not to panic at the sight of the many things I have yet to accomplish.

In an attempt to slow down I decided that I absolutely needed macaroni and cheese.

I have a confession to make…  I’ve never made macaroni and cheese…. Oh, sure I’ve made the kraft blue box here and there as a child, but never the real deal. Of course it’s after removing gluten from my diet that I decide I have a terrible craving for it. Luckily this is 2010 and there are plenty of gluten-free pasta options. Tinkyada is definitely my favorite so far. Sometimes I even forget it’s gluten-free…

Grown up and Gluten-Free Macaroni and Cheese

  • extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1/2 pound Tinkyada shells (or gluten-free pasta of your choice)
  • 1/8 cup white rice flour
  • 1/8 cup sorghum flour
  • 2 cups whole milk
  • 5 oz. Fontina, grated
  • 5 oz. Gruyere, grated
  • 3 Medium tomatoes
  • 3/4 cup gluten-free breadcrumbs (I used the Glutino brand… I recommend putting a few slices of Udi’s gluten-free bread in the food processor and using that instead)
  • 2 Tablespoons chopped fresh sage (or parsley if you prefer)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit and cook the pasta according to package directions, remembering to stop cooking 2-3 minutes before the pasta is cooked through (it will finish in the oven).

In the meantime, heat the milk over low heat in a small saucepan. In a second saucepan, melt the butter over medium heat. Add the flours to the butter and allow to cook for 3-4 minutes stirring constantly with a wooden spoon. Add the milk and continue to stir until the sauce begins to thicken. Remove the saucepan from the heat and add the grated cheese, reserving 1 1/2 tablespoons of each to add to the breadcrumbs later on.

Add the pasta to the sauce and salt and pepper to taste, and pour into a baking dish (I used a 9 inch pie dish… macaroni and cheese pie anyone?). Combine the chopped herbs, breadcrumbs, leftover cheese, salt and pepper and sprinkle over the pasta.

Slice the tomatoes and layer them on top, sprinkling them with a little more salt. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until the sauce is bubbly and the crust is golden-brown.

This will definitely satiate any craving for cheesy pasta.

Love,

D

    Leave a Reply

        Categories

