Posted by: themeanderingpathtoself | September 18, 2010

Back! (Vegetable Tian)

After a long and cleansing vacation, in a new headspace and with a new attitude, I have returned.

This is where I’ve been:

1. My parents’ home: I spent three whole months with MY PEOPLE. Sometimes living in this big, noisy, crowded city allows for the idea to creep in that you don’t have people. Tricksy little city.

While with my parents I climbed big mountains, cooked a lot of things that I didn’t take a SINGLE picture of (whoops) and calmed down. By the end my pulse was probably dangerously low and I loved it.

2. I also went to Tampa, FL for some school related soul searching. I have to admit that Tampa is not my favorite place in the world to be, but I certainly got what I needed from it.

So! Here we are. Clinging to the last days of summer and succumbing to the cool breezes of the beautiful fall. I must say that September in Manhattan is unlike any September I’ve experienced. Perfect weather, turning leaves and the excitement for the coming holidays look lovely on this city.

In the spirit of hanging on to these final warm and sunny days, and for my dear friend Catherine, I adapted Ina Garten’s Vegetable Tian. A better idea, in my humble opinion, than a thankless ratatouille, and an occasion to give those summer vegetables a final chance in the spotlight. Swapping potatoes for sweet ones and thyme for sage makes this a bit more well-suited for September days, and a good helping of Gruyere sends it over the top.

Vegetable Tian

  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 3 medium sweet potatoes
  • 2 medium zucchini
  • three medium tomatoes (roma would probably best, I used beefsteak)
  • 2 large or 3 small yellow onions
  • 7 or 8 fresh sage leaves
  • 3/4 cup grated gruyere
  • good extra virgin olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 tablespoon butter

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit and spray a 9-inch pie pan with nonstick cooking spray.

Slice the onions and saute over low heat with two tablespoons of olive oil, until translucent (6-8 minutes). In the meantime, mince the garlic and the sage leaves together to create a cohesive mixture and add to the pan. Add one tablespoon of butter and cook for about one minute more.

Put the onion mixture on the bottom of the greased pie pan.

Slice all of the vegetables into even 1/4 inch thick slices and arrange them alternately in the pan on top of the onion. Drizzle one more tablespoon of olive oil over top and add salt and pepper to taste.

Cover with aluminum foil and bake for 35 minutes. Remove from the oven, uncover the vegetables and sprinkle the gruyere over them. Bake for another 30 minutes or until browned.

Cheers to a warm September belly!

Love

D

Leave a Reply

Categories

