Posted by: themeanderingpathtoself | April 26, 2010

visitors

My parents came to visit!

This is exciting because:

1. My parents are remarkable people that anyone should be so lucky to spend time with.

2. My parents being here automatically alleviates the constant feeling of panic this city inspires in me.

3. My parents being here marks the last very busy and long week for a long time: After this week come three hassle free weeks in Manhattan, followed by an entire summer at my parents’ house. I could not be more delighted.

The visit lasted an entire week long, and was filled with the following: free ingredients for as many recipes as I could muster, the dragging of feet through the 5th and 6th hour of museum going, long dinners with big glasses of red wine, and the occasional bit of nagging.

Of course it rained on Cloister day. The weather and I seem to have a bad relationship.

It seems like the older I get, the harder it becomes to say goodbye to my parents. Especially since our relationship has finally become one of empathy, harmony and love. The many disputes that used to leave me with a horrible, sinking feeling in the pit of my stomach as a teenager, have all but disappeared. My parents are real humans. Their story is one of incredible love and loyalty. Even though they are a lot further along down the road to self-discovery and realization than I can ever imagine being, they still strive everyday to love each other more fully, to love the whole world, and to be as alive and happy as possible.

The silver lining in their departure is the fact that I am easing into the long awaited summer, and a long awaited vacation. The city is in full bloom, and all its people are lingering outside to soak up the warm air for as long as possible. All I want to eat are summer fruits and veggies. Luckily, I don’t seem to be the only one who feels that way, and the farmer’s markets and supermarkets are beginning to oblige.

Quinoa with zucchini, tomato, red onion and wilted arugula

  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 2 cups chicken or vegetable stock
  • 1 large zucchini
  • 1 large red onion
  • 1 large tomato
  • 1 handful baby arugula
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil

Put the quinoa in a saucepan with the stock and bring to a boil. Once it begins to boil turn the heat down and cover, letting it simmer for about 15 minutes.

In the meantime, Chop the zucchini and place it in a hot skillet with one tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil. Salt and pepper to taste and sauté for about ten minutes. While the zucchini is cooking, chop up the onion and tomato. Add the onion to the pan and continue to cook for about five minutes. Finally, add the baby arugula and continue cooking just until it begins to wilt.

Combine the quinoa, sauteed vegetables and tomatoes, and drizzle the remaining olive oil over them and add a bit more salt and pepper to taste.

Looks and tastes like summer to me!

(If you have it, throw some goat cheese crumbles into the mix… you won’t regret it)

Long live the summer!

Love,

D

Leave a Reply

Categories

