Posted by: themeanderingpathtoself | April 20, 2010

Sweet Limes

Oh man. My weekend spell of acute optimism seems to be fading, and a severe case of apathy is taking its place. The only thing I did deliberately today, was avoid obligations. Hypocrite I am… My obvious solution to dealing with the little lines I keep having to add to the to-do stickies cluttering my computer screen, is to cancel my entire day and watch television on the internet instead. That seems logical, right? The only cure for listlessness of this severity is cake for dinner. Luckily I have some sweet lime cake to brighten my spirits. I adapted the recipe from Nigella Lawson’s Clementine Cake recipe, which is one of my all time favorites.

For the cake:

  • 3 large, or 4 medium sweet limes (meyer lemons work great too)
  • 6 eggs
  • 1 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 1/3 cups ground almonds
  • 1 heaping tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract

    Extras:

    • still have some of those candied kumquats? good.
    • dulce de leche (San Ignacio or Havanna if you can find it… if not whatever kind your supermarket has is fine: I used La Paila) I’ll post a dulce de leche recipe here once I get through all the stickys

    Put the sweet limes in a pot and fill it with cold water (to cover). Put the pot on the stove and bring to a boil. Boil the sweet limes for two hours then remove them from the pot and set aside to let cool.

    Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Grease and line a 8 inch round cake pan (springform if you have it) with parchment paper. Cut the cooled sweet limes into quarters and remove any seeds. Puree the limes in a food processor (including the rind). Beat the eggs in a separate bowl and add the sugar, almonds and baking powder. Sir to combine and add the pureed limes to the mixture. Pour the cake mix into the prepared pan and bake for about 30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

    This is one of those cakes that is really good the first day, and MAGICAL the next day. Something about giving it a day to sit makes the flavors pop a bit more. It’s especially good if you top it off with a bit of dulce de leche… and some candied kumquats. Oh heavens… I can’t talk about it anymore… I’m getting drool on the computer.

    Fight the listless blues! Eat cake!

    Love,

    D

    Leave a Reply

        Categories

