Posted by: themeanderingpathtoself | April 18, 2010

Kumquats!

It’s becoming that time of the year. People are becoming exceedingly busy, and exceedingly uninterested in being busy. The weather is giving us an enticing taste of what’s to come. Obligations and pesky errands are reminding us that warm sunshine doesn’t make us exempt from the little mountains we have to climb every day. I keep finding myself rushing to finish the less exciting parts of my day as quickly as possible to enjoy some of the loveliness that spring brings. I think part of the problem with being young, inexperienced and a general mess, lies in a complete lack of deliberateness in everyday actions/tasks. Somehow I missed the memo demonstrating the vast difference between doing something deliberately and wholly, and plowing through something carelessly. This week I decided to take my newly unearthed idea of deliberateness for a spin. Wow. Even the small amount of time it took to be conscious of it changed everything. Not only did the annoying parts of my days seem less… well… annoying, but I found bits of myself in the work that I did (instead of the muddled chaos I usually leave in my wake). This could be the dawning of a whole new era of un-muddled chaos!

This time of year also makes me ache for citrus. Lucky for me, delightful and always exciting Fairway supermarket had just the thing to soothe that ache. Kumquats! and Sweet Limes! oh my. We’ll start with the kumquats…

Oh, the little delicate kumquat…. so juicy and packed with a bitter punch on the inside. I used to only know what they were in the context of my mother’s favorite saying: te voy a romper el quinotito… she would say to me. (I’m gonna break your little kumquat… by which I’m assuming she meant head? weird.) Anyway, I didn’t realize that it was an actual fruit until someone snuck a raw one on my plate a couple years ago. Even now I think they taste strange raw… It’s almost like that one kind of food you don’t really like, but for some reason you keep eating. In any case, we’re not here to talk about raw kumquats. We want CANDIED kumquats. Why? Because they are succulent.

The perfect recipe for candying kumquats (or any fruit, for that matter) can be found in Tartine. Tartine is from the famous San Francisco bakery with the same name, which has flawless recipes for non gluten-free baked goods, and a few celiac friendly ones.

Heres what you need:

  • approximately 2 cups of halved, seeded kumquats (with the stem end trimmed off)
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar

    In a medium saucepan, combine the sugar and water over medium heat, until sugar dissolves. Add the fruit and reduce the heat to low (If you want to be extra fancy throw a few cinnamon sticks in the mix). Let simmer for approximately 20 minutes. Remove from heat and place in a heatproof container to cool. Store the fruit with its syrup in an airtight container in the refrigerator.

    Thats it! Simple right?

    And they’re little jewels of perfection.

    Oh! And don’t forget to save the syrup they’re in! Use it to sweeten yoghurt! Use it to make a cocktail! yum yum.

    Love,

    D

    Responses

    1. […] have some of those candied kumquats? […]


    Leave a Reply

        Categories

